CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE SOUL

I originally posted this up as part of a “boost foods” article I did on my other blog. I’ve cut and pasted it here for posterity and when winter rolls around again, I may re-write the recipe as I step through it with some more detailed photos.

Chicken Soup & Baby Fennel Salad

Chicken Soup & Baby Fennel Salad

CHICKEN SOUP FOR THE SOUL

A whole chicken
Spinach
Broccoli
Cabbage
Pok Choy
Shitake Mushrooms
Green pepper
Garbanzo Beans
Barley
Carrot
Potato
Garlic
Onion
Mustard Seeds
Pepper
Salt
Herbs
& Spices to taste

Start of by steaming the Whole Chicken, place the cleaned chicken in a stockpot, add 3 glasses of white wine, cover and steam for 20 minutes.

Pre-heat the oven on “Fan Grill” to 200*C.

Meanwhile, begin chopping all the vegetables into 1cm by 1cm cubes (or use the food processor to shred them).

Take the chicken out of the stockpot (leave the juices behind) and place under the grill for 20 mins to colour and melt off the fat.

Meanwhile, skim any scum off from the pot, add the chopped garlic, onion, mustard seeds and barley.

Allow to stock up and then add the beans, potato and carrots.

Take the chicken out of the oven, allow to cool enough to handle, and begin ripping meat of the carcass roughly.

Place the ripped meat and carcass back into the stock pot, add water to cover and allow to high simmer for about 20 minutes. Add the remaining ingredients, turn the heat right down low and allow to cook slowly until the vegetables have become a soft puree like consistency.

Take the carcass out of the pot, shred off any remaining meat and return the meat to the pot. Add any final herbs or spices to suit your tatstes and serve.

I like to add some fresh chilli and coriander on the top – but this is not to everyone’s taste. Additionally, a nice accompaniment is some fresh sourdough that’s been placed under the grill and had some fresh garlic and buter slathered on top. Yummo!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

The Dragon and The Phoenix

Bard's Journey into the Collective Subconscious and How It Shapes Our World

alinazen.wordpress.com/

the joy is in the journey

Achieving Business Outcome With Enterprise Architecture

Exploring how to get greater efficiency, exceptional outcome, and superior quality of service with enterprise architecture

The Italian foodie

Corner for food passionates, wine lover, enjoy the simple things

From Belly to Bacon

Curing Meats & Other DIY Food Projects

My Internet Airship

Find. Like. Post. Repeat.

Catonomics

Exploring ideas in agricultural finance

apsmitchell

Australian native plants

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Gastronomica

The Journal of Food and Culture

Food Stories – Helen Graves

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

The Joy of Cheese

The Place for all things cheese, fromage, and queso

amy in the middle

my colourful journey through life

Art4Agriculture Chat

Our blog will share Art4Agriculture’s journey to share stories and improve the understanding of modern farming practices so urban and rural communities can work together to ensure the health, wealth and happiness of all Australians.

Fiona Lake Australian Outback Photos & Writing

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Farming Unlocked

Bringing Australian farmers and consumers closer together

effervescentoverflow

A virtual and literal culvert of thoughts and images

mecci - It's Shiny in here...

To wherever the truth may lead us...

Remiel

Is this rhetorical question confusing?

Melaniejoyvertalino's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

mstye

Just another WordPress.com site

Wert? Wert? Perperpbert!

Just another WordPress.com site

Clover Hill Dairies Diary

A day in the life of an AGvocate

Pants in Motion

A neglected thing.

View from a Bush Verandah

Passionate about rural Australia and the long term viability of our primary industries.

New Here

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Farmnwife

Keepin' It Rural

Agronomy Man' blogs

Thoughts and blogs from an Agricultural College agronomy lecturer

James Sez Stuff

This is where I spill it about what's going down with this faction of the Fritz family. Read, Enjoy, Comment!

Serious Thinks Thought Here

Grown Up Blogging Platform - Same Crappy Content

adventuresincooking.com

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Common Sense Agriculture's Blog

A rancher's perspective on agriculture, food, politics and more.

Stuart Murdoch

I use a camera; and teach others the same...

The Forest Feast

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

ELLI LUCA DESIGNS

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

The Unorthodox Epicure

Confessions of an Aspiring Food Snob

This Mom's Wired

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Inside Flipboard

The Official Flipboard Blog

La Vita Cucinare

Life Lived to Cook

Overtime Cook

...because most of us don't have all day to spend in the kitchen!

The Pescetarian and the Pig

Vegetarian and Seafood Recipes

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

The Mindful Foodie

Nourish your Life

