Chilli & Chilli Oil

OK. So, those that know me and have sampled this have asked me for it, and here it is – how to make my “will burn a hole through hell’s floor” chilli mix.

My Jar of Chilli (after 6th refill)

Chilli in Oil

Right, we need to start with the right chilli’s – personally I tend to make it with what’s around – including Habanero – but generally tend to go for the “Naga” for their flavour … although I’ve been known to use “Cherry Bomb”, “Jamaican hot” or “Caribbean Red” when I couldn’t find them, or simply steal some of dad’s “Prairie Fire” hybrids from his garden.

I tend to try and find them dried – makes it easier … if not, then shove them into a pair of clean stockings and hang them from the garage rafter for a month, should dry them out nicely.

Right, once you have your dry pods, time to get crushing – personally, I go at it with a huge mortar and pestle, but I suppose a food processor could work … basically, you want to crush the pods down to nothing but specks of skin and seeds.

I also like to add a little flavour to the mix – so I tend tmix in some dried garlic, aniseed, caraway seeds, Cinnamon Sticks and/or Bay Leaves (usually at a ratio of 1:30 – but to suit your tastes, obviously) as I crush the chilli pods.

Once you’ve crushed your pods (and flavour enhancers), grab a big bottle of brandy and pour it through the mix. No, you didn’t misread that. While any 40%+ spirit will work, I tend to prefer the flavour a brandy or whisky imparts on the mix. Vodka will work just fine though, as what we are wanting here is an agent to leech the Capsicain oil out from the placenta and crushed meat.

Pour the mixture into jars and place them in the back of your pantry for about 3 weeks (or until the brandy has been completely absorbed by the chilli mix).

Now, you’ll need a good olive oil – first harvest cold pressed green olive oil. Pour the olive oil into each jar and seal it, place it upside down in the back of the pantry and let it sit for about 2 weeks. It should be ready by then.

Crushed Chilli & Chilli in Oil

After the two weeks it’s ready – at this stage, you have a choice – use as is, or you can pour the olive oil out from the jar into an oil bottle for the best chilli oil you’ll ever have – simply re-fill the original jar and allow it to re-ferment for another 2 weeks. I have been able repeat this re-fill process for about 6 refills before starting to notice a substantial drop in the heat infusion of the oil.

Word of warning – A small amount of oil is enough for most people – this recipe utilises a “fermenting” process which allows the ability to leach the full extent of the capsaicin from the placenta (the part that holds onto the seeds and the actual source of all that heat!), the brandy leaches it out, then in being reabsorbed by the chilli pieces, the capsaicin is evenly distributed and then slowly re-leached out into the oil in the second stage. This process thus enhances the heat of the chillis used and that means that whatever you use, this mix is deadly! But oh so flavoursome!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

The Dragon and The Phoenix

Bard's Journey into the Collective Subconscious and How It Shapes Our World

alinazen.wordpress.com/

the joy is in the journey

Achieving Business Outcome With Enterprise Architecture

Exploring how to get greater efficiency, exceptional outcome, and superior quality of service with enterprise architecture

The Italian foodie

Corner for food passionates, wine lover, enjoy the simple things

From Belly to Bacon

Curing Meats & Other DIY Food Projects

My Internet Airship

Find. Like. Post. Repeat.

Catonomics

Exploring ideas in agricultural finance

apsmitchell

Australian native plants

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Gastronomica

The Journal of Food and Culture

Food Stories – Helen Graves

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

The Joy of Cheese

The Place for all things cheese, fromage, and queso

amy in the middle

my colourful journey through life

Art4Agriculture Chat

Our blog will share Art4Agriculture’s journey to share stories and improve the understanding of modern farming practices so urban and rural communities can work together to ensure the health, wealth and happiness of all Australians.

Fiona Lake Australian Outback Photos & Writing

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Farming Unlocked

Bringing Australian farmers and consumers closer together

effervescentoverflow

A virtual and literal culvert of thoughts and images

mecci - It's Shiny in here...

To wherever the truth may lead us...

Remiel

Is this rhetorical question confusing?

Melaniejoyvertalino's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

mstye

Just another WordPress.com site

Wert? Wert? Perperpbert!

Just another WordPress.com site

Clover Hill Dairies Diary

A day in the life of an AGvocate

Pants in Motion

A neglected thing.

View from a Bush Verandah

Passionate about rural Australia and the long term viability of our primary industries.

New Here

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Farmnwife

Keepin' It Rural

Agronomy Man' blogs

Thoughts and blogs from an Agricultural College agronomy lecturer

James Sez Stuff

This is where I spill it about what's going down with this faction of the Fritz family. Read, Enjoy, Comment!

Serious Thinks Thought Here

Grown Up Blogging Platform - Same Crappy Content

adventuresincooking.com

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Common Sense Agriculture's Blog

A rancher's perspective on agriculture, food, politics and more.

Stuart Murdoch

I use a camera; and teach others the same...

The Forest Feast

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

ELLI LUCA DESIGNS

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

The Unorthodox Epicure

Confessions of an Aspiring Food Snob

This Mom's Wired

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Inside Flipboard

The Official Flipboard Blog

La Vita Cucinare

Life Lived to Cook

Overtime Cook

...because most of us don't have all day to spend in the kitchen!

The Pescetarian and the Pig

Vegetarian and Seafood Recipes

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

The Mindful Foodie

Nourish your Life

