Oh, a cornucopia of opportunity sits in my larder at the moment …

Raw Cacao, Ox Cheeks, Pork Rack, jointed wild Rabbit, Spatchcock, lamb leg, sashimi grade tuna, some pods of dried mexican chillis and a block of mexican chocolate are amongst the bounty of fresh australian produce that are teasing me this week.

My mind has gone on a number of wonka style adventures with these ingredients since they arrived yesterday.

Not knowing what else to do, I started tonight off with a basic raw-food sashimi dinner – thinly length-grated heritage carrots adorned with identically grated radish  made the base of the plate with baby rocket sprouting from the bed whilst slivers of cucumber paved the edge. Thinly sliced tuna lounged across the vegetable garden with a fresh wasabi and dark soy stood by to marinade each slice with a salty and sinus shattering goodness. Fresh baby sugar snap peas were briskly tossed in some cooking rice wine with a dash of fish sauce to provide a pungent salty contrast to the sweet juiciness of the peas to which I added (after they cooled) a handful of sicilian style marinated sardines as a side salad which offered the unique experience of the fish being the breaker to the flavour of the peas, rather than the usual opposite effect.

Having completed dinner, I spent the last thirty minutes wondering what to make of all of these ingredients.

I took out the pork rack and after seasoning it with a mild sprinkling of salt and sugar, added 1 cup each of cloudy apple juice and Semillon Sauvignon, a squeeze of half a small lime, a mint leaf, 2 chopped pears and 2 chopped apples and sealed it all into an airtight container to marinade.

I also took out the ox cheeks. After cleaning away all of the excess fat, I sliced each cheek into two halves. I then ruined a whole bunch of ingredients as I smashed my mortor and pestle whilst being a little too passionate with my bashing of the ingredients … so out came the coffee grinder to finish the job instead into which I placed 1 teaspoon of hot smoked paprika, 1 teaspoon of cocoa powder, 4 teaspoons of raw cocoa nibs, 3 walnuts and 5 chestnuts. They were ground to the consistency of, well, coffee grounds (funny enough!) and then coated each of the cheek peices. The pieces were then laid into a container into which 500ml of full cream milk was added then once again, the container was sealed and placed back into the fridge to marinade.

Sometimes, this is how it is, little ideas form as I go along and the final dish, well, it’s not always clear to me until I am done.

I’ll let you know in a few days how this all turns out.

Leave a Reply

The Dragon and The Phoenix

Bard's Journey into the Collective Subconscious and How It Shapes Our World

alinazen.wordpress.com/

the joy is in the journey

Achieving Business Outcome With Enterprise Architecture

Exploring how to get greater efficiency, exceptional outcome, and superior quality of service with enterprise architecture

The Italian foodie

Corner for food passionates, wine lover, enjoy the simple things

From Belly to Bacon

Curing Meats & Other DIY Food Projects

My Internet Airship

Find. Like. Post. Repeat.

Catonomics

Exploring ideas in agricultural finance

apsmitchell

Australian native plants

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Gastronomica

The Journal of Food and Culture

Food Stories – Helen Graves

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

The Joy of Cheese

The Place for all things cheese, fromage, and queso

amy in the middle

my colourful journey through life

Art4Agriculture Chat

Our blog will share Art4Agriculture’s journey to share stories and improve the understanding of modern farming practices so urban and rural communities can work together to ensure the health, wealth and happiness of all Australians.

Fiona Lake Australian Outback Photos & Writing

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Farming Unlocked

Bringing Australian farmers and consumers closer together

effervescentoverflow

A virtual and literal culvert of thoughts and images

mecci - It's Shiny in here...

To wherever the truth may lead us...

Remiel

Is this rhetorical question confusing?

Melaniejoyvertalino's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

mstye

Just another WordPress.com site

Wert? Wert? Perperpbert!

Just another WordPress.com site

Clover Hill Dairies Diary

A day in the life of an AGvocate

Pants in Motion

A neglected thing.

View from a Bush Verandah

Passionate about rural Australia and the long term viability of our primary industries.

New Here

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Farmnwife

Keepin' It Rural

Agronomy Man' blogs

Thoughts and blogs from an Agricultural College agronomy lecturer

James Sez Stuff

This is where I spill it about what's going down with this faction of the Fritz family. Read, Enjoy, Comment!

Serious Thinks Thought Here

Grown Up Blogging Platform - Same Crappy Content

adventuresincooking.com

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Common Sense Agriculture's Blog

A rancher's perspective on agriculture, food, politics and more.

Stuart Murdoch

I use a camera; and teach others the same...

The Forest Feast

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

ELLI LUCA DESIGNS

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

The Unorthodox Epicure

Confessions of an Aspiring Food Snob

This Mom's Wired

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

Inside Flipboard

The Official Flipboard Blog

La Vita Cucinare

Life Lived to Cook

Overtime Cook

...because most of us don't have all day to spend in the kitchen!

The Pescetarian and the Pig

Vegetarian and Seafood Recipes

These are the things I cook. Recording the things I have always made as well as the experiments I undertake. Practically nothing is outside the realm of trying ... at least once.

The Mindful Foodie

Nourish your Life

